Being Selected for the Apple Distinguished Educator: Class of 2015 Program

ade-class-of-2015

(Image Credit: Apple)

In March this year, I decided to apply for the prestigious role of an Apple Distinguished Educator (ADE) and today, I was fortunate enough to receive an email saying that I had been selected to join the ADE Class of 2015! This post aims to give you an insight into the background of the ADE program and the application process.

What are ADE’s?
The ADE programme began in 1994 and Apple describe the program as “a relationship program focused on educational excellence and leadership. ADEs are part of a global community of education leaders recognized for doing amazing things with Apple technology in and out of the classroom. They explore new ideas, seek new paths, and embrace new opportunities. That includes working with each other and with Apple to bring the freshest, most innovative ideas to learners everywhere“. Currently, there are more than 2 000 ADEs spread across the globe and having worked with a couple of ADE’s, I know the statement above is definitely true! As a community, they meet and collaborate to devise solutions to address some of the problems faced by educators.

Applying to become an ADE
The application process was rigorous but straight forward. First, I had to enter personal and professional information, explain my current role and describe the devices used in my learning environment. In addition I had to share my story by answering 4 key questions which focused on transforming my learning environment and the role of Apple technologies in this, learner successes and sharing successes to the broader education community.

Next I had to tell bring my story to life through the medium of a 2 minute movie. Apple stated that this “may be as simple or as elaborate as you desire“. They also highly recommend that the applicant appears in the video or at least include images with the applicant providing a voice over. It is also suggested on the application page that the movie “provide[s] a glimpse into your classroom or learning environment by showing how your use of Apple technologies transforms teaching and learning“. This was my entry:

Conclusion
Applications have now closed, however I thought I’d share my experiences to illustrate how the process works for those who may be interested in applying for the role in future. If you have any questions about the process or if you have applied yourself, I would love to hear from you either via Twitter or by leaving a comment below.

Leave a Reply

